NextFlex Fellows

Leading the charge in the FHE industry

NextFlex Fellows are talented trailblazers who have helped drive our industry forward and guide NextFlex as we grow. As groundbreaking thought leaders, we recognize them for their leadership and support.


The 2020 fellows received their awards for their work in transforming learning programs, helping to spearhead NextFlex workshop sessions that focus on defense applications, and developing new and emerging technology that make careers in advanced manufacturing possible for many across the United States.

The 2020 Fellows truly reflect and embrace our organization’s charter and mission to bring FHE into the mainstream.

Meet the 2020 fellows

Maniphone (Moni) Dickerson, Ph.D.

Dr. Dickerson is the Dean of Business & Workforce Development at Evergreen Valley College. She and the team at Evergreen Valley college have worked closely with NextFlex and local manufacturers to innovate and introduce transformative learning programs that are making careers in advanced manufacturing possible to many in Silicon Valley. In addition, she has been a key partner in both the local and national expansion of the FlexFactor program.

Glenn Farris

Mr. Farris is the Vice President of Marketing at Universal Instruments. He has led a NextFlex-funded project that defined optimized techniques for attaching very thin devices to flexible films, allowing for high-speed placement and assembly of ultra-thin die on flexible substrates, a technique that was not previously in volume production. In addition, Glenn has been extremely supportive with the UIC pick and place equipment at the NextFlex Technology Hub and he always answers the call for help, to the benefit of NextFlex and the member community.

Steve Gonya

Mr. Gonya is a LM-Fellow, Research Scientist at Lockheed Martin. He is chartered with developing new and emerging technology for RMS next generation electronic platforms and has helped spearhead NextFlex workshop sessions focusing on defense applications. He is a co-lead of NextFlex’s Device Integration and Packaging Technical Working Group.

Paul Semenza

Before becoming Chair of the Department of Engineering Management and Leadership at Santa Clara University, Paul Semenza was an adjunct lecturer in the Department. He is also an independent consultant with expertise in market research, strategic planning, and technology assessment of flat panel displays, semiconductors, and flexible electronics. In 2015, Paul helped to found NextFlex and served as Director of Commercialization until 2018, creating the membership structure and developing relationships with equipment manufacturers and other partners. He has helped shape the trajectory of the organization through two Cooperative Agreements, and his guidance and knowledge have proved invaluable over the years.

The 2019 Fellows

  • Scott Anderson, Ph.D.
  • Craig Herndon
  • Bruce Hughes
  • Pradeep Lall, Ph.D.
  • Ben Leever, Ph.D.
  • Mike Mastropietro
  • Chris H. Stoessel, Ph.D.
  • Nancy Stoffel, Ph.D.
  • Jeff Stuart, Ph.D.
  • John Williams, Ph.D.

The 2018 Fellows

  • Jim Huang, Ph.D.
  • Joseph M. Kunze, Ph.D.
  • Terri Sandu
  • Suresh Sitaraman, Ph.D.
  • Geoffrey A. Slipher
  • Richard Vaia, Ph.D.

The 2017 Fellows

  • Azar Alizadeh, Ph.D.
  • Homer Antoniadis, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Gamota, Ph.D.
  • Daniel Hines, Ph.D.
  • Anwar Mohammed, Ph.D.
  • Mark D. Poliks, Ph.D.
  • Robert Smith, Ph.D.

Stay up to date with the latest from NextFlex

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.